in ,

Mac Miller: Circles Album Review

Posthumously released music can be hit or miss a lot of times. This is obviously because the artist isn’t alive to add whatever personal touches to the final piece that they otherwise would. Fans will almost always notice that there’s something missing or it just isn’t the same. Just ask Michael Jackson fans in 2010. Before I could finish the entire record, I realized “Circles” was something special for Mac Miller fans. Admittedly, this album was my first pass at extensively listening to any of his work. It’s a shame because had I done it sooner, I could have appreciated his music while he was still here.

⚠️ Scroll to the end for the full Album Score.

Standout Tracks

1.) Blue World
2.) Good News
3.) I Can See*
4.) Everybody
5.) Woods

*= I Can See is an amazing track. I have not stopped playing it since I heard it. Hands down my favorite song on the album.

Sonically, this album was clearly to be of a certain vibe altogether. Wilted vocals, heartbreaking melodies and downtempo strides. It honestly felt like a goodbye message, an auditory finale to a career and a life. It was well done and good on his family and the producers for pulling it together for their guy.

Album Score

Album Score
Total Score iThis score is based on several factors contributing to the overall enjoyment of the album


  • I Can See
  • The unconventional vibe for a rapper
  • Sounds finished
  • Melodies and singing


  • Felt sad in a way
  • Missed opportunity for cool features

What do you think?

Written by Alonté Cross

Alonté is a multi-disciplinary artist, creative entrepreneur and creator of Crossfade. Host of COOLIN' with AC, Fridays on X.FM+Discord!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Flashback Friday Mix #002

S2 EP03: January 24th, 2020